Matador: Songs of Leonard Cohen

Patricia O'Callaghan
Add To Cart
Email Friend

"A superb collection of Leonard Cohen gems... [including] quite possibly the most exquisite 'Hallelujah' ever recorded." - JazzTimes, March 2012

"O'Callaghan's voice is as rich, pliable and luminous as ever, interpreting Cohen's songs with tremendous tenderness and a mature, worldly sensitivity and insight. Yes, the soprano nails Cohen!" - Wholenote, February 2012

On Matador, Patricia O'Callaghan brings her special ability to find new meaning in great songs to the music of Leonard Cohen. With the backing of a great band and guest singers, Patricia explores the emotional depths and meaning of the songwriter and poet's music.

Patricia O’Callaghan's idea behind the title: "The Matador Tavern is a legend in Toronto, where Cohen used to go, and which the song "Closing Time" was about. It’s a strong, evocative, and romantic title, and, well, Cohen is a bit of a matador, certainly a lady killer, and a fighter for truth, someone who’s willing to go to the edge, and like the matador, he is a dying breed."

As a bonus, Matador features four Leonard Cohen songs from Patricia’s previous Marquis recordings including her celebrated version of "Hallelujah", and "The Smokey Life", a duet with Steven Page.

Catalog: MAR 417
Preview or purchase on iTunes
Available on Amazon

Track Listing

1.   The Gypsy’s Wife
2.   The Window
3.   Dance Me to the End of Love  
4.   Who by Fire?
5.   Alexandra Leaving    
6.   Everybody Knows (Listen)
7.   Suzanne        
8.   If it be your Will         
9.   Anthem        

Bonus Tracks (from previous recordings):

10.  The Smokey Life (featuring Steven Page) 
11.  Joan of Arc
12.   I’m your Man
13.   Hallelujah

Total playing time: 56:53

 You might also enjoy these titles: