It Takes Two

Duo Concertante
Add To Cart
Email Friend

Duo Concertante: Nancy Dahn, violin and Timothy Steeves, piano

Duo Concertante, acclaimed for their "artistry, poetry, and impeccable technique" (La Scena Musicale) have recorded 14 of their favourite encore pieces - music that is immediately recognisable - and for good reason. The brilliant arrangements by Clifford Crawley complement the virtuosity of Nancy Dahn and Timothy Steeves. Their joy in performing this wonderful music is evident on every track.

From the performers:
"This recording initially grew out of Duo Concertante's need for a few encore-type pieces which featured both instruments in an equally prominent way. When we approached Clifford Crawley about arranging some materials for us, we suggested some of our favourite opera arias, jazz tunes, and orchestral pieces. He, in turn, had other great ideas and for the next year turned out the 14 arrangements that comprise this disc. We are indebted to his great skill, enthusiasm, and generous spirit. The title of the disc should really be It Takes Three." - Nancy and Tim

Catalog: MAR 401
Preview or purchase on iTunes Canada USA

Track Listing

  1. De Abreu: Tico Tico
  2. Gershwin: Lady Be Good (medley)
  3. Saint-Saëns: Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix
  4. Khachaturian: Sabre Dance
  5. Grieg: Solveig's Song
  6. Gillespie: A Night in Tunisia (Listen)
  7. The Lark (trad)
  8. Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet
  9. Sibelius: Valse triste
10. Rodgers: It's a Grand Night for Falling in Love (Listen)
      with the Most Beautiful Girl on a Carousel
11. Bonfá: Black Orpheus
12. Tchaikovsky: June - Barcarolle (Listen)
13. Mozart: Rondo alla Turka
14. Puccini: Humming Chorus

Total playing time: 61:50

 You might also enjoy these titles: