O'Carolan's Harp

Siobhan McDonnell
Add To Cart
Email Friend

"…Beautiful playing, pure sounds. A great collection for celtophiles." - The Winnipeg Sun

"McDonnell displays the touch of a virtuoso and elegantly recaptures the sound of 300-year-old folk music… [She] deserves praise for delivering [this music] the way it was meant to be heard." - Barrie Examiner

Celtic harp music by Turlough O'Carolan, and traditional tunes of his time, including The Lark in the Clear Air. Siobhan McDonnell (1961-2005) is accompanied by flute, baroque violin and viola da gamba - the Arion Ensemble.

Catalog: MAR 195
Preview or purchase on iTunes Canada USA

Track Listing

  1. Carrickfergus
  2. Lady St. John
  3. The Lamentation Of Owen Roe O'Neill
  4. O'Carolan's Concerto
  5. Miss Hamilton
  6. O'Carolan's Receipt
  7. O'Carolan's Quarrel With The Landlady
  8. Sir Festus Burke
  9. As I Wander By The Brookside
  10. Lady Athenry
  11. Twa Bonnie Maidens
  12. Mrs. Maxwell
  13. Variations On A Scottish Air
  14. Close By The Sea
  15. Sheebeg And Sheemore
  16. Captain O'Kane
  17. Eileen Aroon
  18. Colonel John Irwin
  19. The Tulla March
  20. Brian Boru's March
  21. The Lark In The Clear Air (Listen)
  22. Bridget Cruise
  23. Fanny Power
  24. O'Carolan's Farewell
  25. The Coulin
  26. The Morrison's Jig and George Brabazon

Total Playing Time: 76:25

 You might also enjoy these titles: