Beethoven: Complete Sonatas for Violin and Piano

Duo Concertante
3-CD set
Add To Cart
Email Friend

"Duo Concertante... have recorded beautiful interpretations of all 10 sonatas for violin and piano by Ludwig van Beethoven... The recording made at the Glenn Gould Studio last year is so good right down to the tiniest of details that it deserves to be called a reference in the contemporary performance of these 10 great pieces."
- John Terauds, Musical Toronto

"[Duo Concertante] create an elegant balance, a classical parity between the two instruments and their expressive performances have a refreshing clarity and feel for the symmetry of the music that is a joyous experience to hear. Nowhere have I heard a more detailed refinement in these sonatas. Duo Concertante do a wonderful job."
- Grego Applegate Edwards, Classical-Modern Music Review

"Dahn and Steeves play these wonderful sonatas as if they are visiting old friends, and the sense of intimacy and emotional involvement is palpable throughout the three discs." - The Wholenote

This 3-CD set presents the complete Beethoven sonatas for Violin and Piano, performed by Duo Concertante: Nancy Dahn, violin, and Timothy Steeves, piano.

"The Beethoven violin sonatas represent a turning point in the history of the violin and piano repertoire, because these sonatas aren't piano sonatas with a violin accompaniment or obligato, but actually written for two equal forces. This cycle of Beethoven sonatas has become incredibly important in terms of who we are as performers. We play a Beethoven sonata with almost every concert we give. There is a perfect Beethoven sonata for every program because there's such a huge range within the set... He transcends the needs of the instrumentalists to find pure musical expression.

Having the opportunity to play and record these sonatas is really a high point in our career, and it's something that we had dreamed about doing for a long time. It's been a huge task, but we have learned so much from doing it. We hope the permanence and constancy of these Beethoven sonatas in our daily lives and the great joy that they bring to us are tangible in these recordings." - Duo Concertante

Catalog: MAR 517
Preview or purchase on iTunes Canada USA

Track Listing

CD 1
Sonata in E flat major, op. 12, no. 3
1.    Allegro con spirito
2.    Adagio con molt’ espressione
3.    Rondo: Allegro molto

Sonata in A minor, op. 23
1.   Presto
2.   Andante scherzoso, piu allegretto
3.   Allegro molto

Sonata in D major, op. 12, no. 1
1.   Allegro con brio
2.   Tema con variazioni: Andante con moto
3.   Rondo: Allegro

Sonata in G major, op. 30, no. 3
1.   Allegro assai
2.   Tempo di menuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso
3.   Allegro vivace

Total Playing Time: 1:10:02

CD 2
Sonata in F major, op. 24, "Spring"
1.   Allegro (Listen)
2.   Adagio molto espressivo
3.   Scherzo: Allegro molto
4.   Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo

Sonata in A major, op. 12, no. 2
1.   Allegro vivace
2.   Andante piu tosto allegretto
3.   Allegro piacevole

Sonata in A major, op. 47, "Kreutzer"
1.   Adagio sostenuto–presto
2.   Andante con variazioni
3.   Presto

Total Playing Time: 1:12:54

CD 3
Sonata in C minor, op. 30, no. 2
1.   Allegro con brio
2.   Adagio cantabile
3.   Scherzo: Allegro
4.   Finale: Allegro

Sonata in A major, op. 30, no. 1
1.   Allegro
2.   Adagio
3.   Allegretto con variazioni

Sonata in G major, op. 96
1.   Allegro moderato
2.   Adagio con espressivo
3.   Scherzo: Allegro–Trio
4.   Poco allegretto

Total Playing Time: 1:14:55

 You might also enjoy these titles: