De Profundis: String Quartets

Penderecki String Quartet
Add To Cart
Email Friend

The Penderecki String Quartet present the world premiere recording of Norbert Palej's String Quartets No. 1 and No. 2, as well as Krzysztof Penderecki's String Quartet No.3, "Leaves of an Unwritten Diary".

Of his string quartets, Norbert Palej writes:
While composing the first quartet I was reading Oscar Wilde's De Profundis. And while composing the second, I was engrossed in T. S. Eliot's Four Quartets. Without the influence of this poetry the music would have turned out completely differently. Yet I can't explain where exactly the influence is revealed. The subtitles of my quartets merely point toward it, hoping this gentle gesture will not in any way limit the listeners' flights of imagination.

Penderecki’s remarkable Third Quartet is entirely different from his first two quartets which were composed in 1960 and 1968. The Quartet No.3 is grounded in tonality and is deeply emotional, intensely furious at times, with evocations of Mahler, Shostakovich, Szymanowski. It presents a sentimental Waltz that emerges from a dream state. There is also a Romanian folk tune which appears towards the end which Penderecki attributes to childhood memories of his father’s violin playing.

Catalog: MAR 473

Track Listing:

1. Norbert Palej, String Quartet No.1, "De Profundis" (2011) *

Norbert Palej, String Quartet No.2 with soprano, "Four Quartets" (2013) *
2. I - Semplice (Listen)
3. II - Drammatico
4. III - Antico, implacabile
5. IV - Acuto

6 Krzysztof Penderecki, String Quartet No.3, "Leaves of an Unwritten Diary" (2008)

* World Premiere Recording

Total playing time: 71:00

 You might also enjoy these titles: