Our Own Songs

Aldeburgh Connection
Add To Cart
Email Friend

This Aldeburgh Connection recording features an impressive and inspiring collection of songs, featuring the of three prominent Canadian composers: John Greer, Derek Holman and John Beckwith. These works were all commissioned by the Aldeburgh.

The recording features compositions inspired by a wide range of influences: an Agnolo Bronzino painting; classical Greek and Latin poetry; the poems of Douglas LePan; Henry Purcell's Dido's Lament; the music of Robert Burns and the writing of Canadian novelist Margaret Laurence.

Artistic directors and pianists Stephen Ralls and Bruce Ubukata perform alongside internationally acclaimed singers Adrianne Pieczonka, Monica Whicher, Elizabeth Turnbull, Colin Ainsworth and Mark Pedrotti to pay tribute to Canadian song and to commemorate the rich history of the Aldeburgh Connection.

Catalog: MAR 381
Preview or purchase on iTunes

Track Listing

John Greer
1-12 The Allegory of Sweet Desire
A song cycle to classical Greek and Roman poems

Derek Holman
13-16 The Heart Mislaid
17 Airs and Echoes upon a Ground
Set to four love poems of Douglas LePan

John Beckwith
18-23 Stacey
Inspired by the soliloquies of Stacey McAindra in
Margaret Laurence's "The Fire-Dwellers"

John Greer
24-38 Liebesleid-Lieder
Songs about the foibles of love and romance, based in part on poems by Dorothy Parker

Total playing time: 73:14


 You might also enjoy these titles: