Music from the Suitcase

Yevgeny Kutik
Add To Cart
Email Friend

Violinist Yevgeny Kutik presents a collection of Russian rarities, "Music from the Suitcase". The pieces are selected from sheet music brought over to the USA when his family fled the Soviet Union in 1990.

Included are rarely performed short works for violin and piano by prominent composers like Prokofiev, Stravinsky and Khachaturian, and gems by Andrei Eshpai and Georgy Sviridov, composers whose reputations never quite penetrated the Iron Curtain. Yevgeny is accompanied on the CD by pianist Timothy Bozarth.

Yevgeny says: "As I continued to explore this music, they began to organize themselves into a distinct array of moods and themes, suffused with the character of Russian folklore, fantasy, and poetry… The pieces on this album carry with them a simplicity and directness, and with this immediacy, a striking beauty... It reminds me of what we went through and how far we have come."

This new recording also includes the haunting "Oyfn Pripetchik", a Yiddish song by M. M. Warshawsky that Mr. Kutik encountered during a trip to Poland during which he visited Auschwitz and other sites of Nazi atrocities.

Catalog: MAR 453
Available on Amazon

Track Listing

Andrei Eshpai  (b. 1925) – Rhapsody "Hungarian Tunes"
  1.        I Lento Sostenuto  
  2.        II Allegro non troppo    
  3.        III Andante (Listen)                 
  4.        IV Allegro Vivace          
  5.        V Moderato                   
  6.        VI Allegro moderato con grazia
  7.        VII Vivo      

  8.        Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1951) (arr. G. Fikhtengolts)  Waltz from Cinderella

  9.        Anton Rubinstein (1829-94) (arr. H. Wieniawski)
             Romance in E flat Major, Op. 44, No. 1   

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) – Divertimento, from The Fairy’s Kiss
(transcription by Stravinsky and Samuel Dushkin from Le Baiser de la Fée)
10.       Sinfonia                 
11.       Danses Suisses         
12.       Scherzo                  
13.       Pas de deux: Adagio          
14.       Variation      
15.       Coda                      

16.       Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978) - Nocturne from the Masquerade Suite

17.       Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky  (1840-1893) - (arr. M. Goldstein)
            Russian Dance from Swan Lake

Georgy Sviridov (1915-1998) (arr. K. Fortunatov) from Children’s Album
18.       Sad Song       
19.       Musical Moment            

Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975) (arr. D. Tziganov) - Four Preludes, Op. 34, No. 10
20.       1 Moderato non troppo  
21.       2 Allegretto                 
22.       3 Andantino                     
23.       4 Allegretto    

24.       Oyfn Pripetchik – transcription for violin by Brian Buch
            after the song by M.M. Warshawsky (1848–1907)

Total playing time: 71:55

 You might also enjoy these titles: