Michel Corrette: Sonatas

Luchkow-Jarvis Duo
Michael Jarvis
Paul Luchkow
Add To Cart
Email Friend

"There’s a simply outstanding new CD from the Canadian west coast duo of violinist Paul Luchkow and harpsichordist Michael Jarvis… The violin playing is sensitive and warm, and the harpsichord playing bright, clear and beautifully articulated. There’s sensitivity in the slow movements, dazzling virtuosity in the fast outer movements and superb ensemble playing throughout. It’s thoroughly engrossing music, fascinating and inventive with never a dull moment, and recorded with lovely ambience. All in all, an absolute delight." - The Wholenote

"Written in 1742 to please the exquisite tastes of Louis XV’s court… Luchkow and Jarvis apply the polished elegance the court would have expected with the relaxed intimacy that would have heightened the musical pleasure in a recording that suggests the music's more private destinations. Playing a half-step low at A=415 gives them the space to address the charm and grace of the music, and to highlight the occasional high energy. Each rises to the occasion when short runs, brilliant trills and other feints at virtuosity are required." - Laurence Vittes, Gramophone

Michael Jarvis (harpsichord) and Paul Luchkow (violin) perform six sonatas composed by Michel Corrette (Op 25.). They are a remarkable set - very French – and all inspired by stories from Greek mythology. (Les Jeux Olympiques, Les Amusemens d’Apollon chez Le Roi Admete, Les Voyages d’Ulysse etc.)

The "Sonates pour le Clavecin avec un Accompagnement de Violon" date from approximately 1742.

The Luchkow—Jarvis Duo was formed by Paul Luchkow and Michael Jarvis in 2007 to explore sonata repertoire for violin and keyboard from the Baroque, Classical, and Romantic periods, on instruments of the time. In the following years, Paul and Michael have played many concerts featuring music ranging from the Baroque era to the end of the 19th century. Michael Jarvis died in December 2020.

Read the complete booklet notes.

Catalog: MAR 475
Available on Amazon

Track Listing

Sonata I in C major "Les Fêtes de Flore"
1. Allegro
2. Musette: Affettuoso
3. Presto

Sonata II in F major "Les Champs Elisées"
4. Vivace
5. Aria: Affettuoso
6. Allegro

Sonata III in A major "Le Jardin des Hesperides"
7. Allegro
8. Musette: Affettuoso
9. Giga (Listen)

Sonata IV in e minor "Les Amusemens d’Apollon Chez Le Roi Admete"
10. Allegro
11. Aria: Affettuoso
12. Presto

Sonata V in D major "Les jeux Olympiques"
13. Allegro
14. Aria: Affettuoso
15. Giga: Allegro

Sonata VI in G major "Les Voyages d’Ulysse"
16. Allegro "Tempeste", "Ulysse se sauve a
la nage et aborde a l’Isle de Calypso"
17. Aria: "Ulysse dans I’Isle de Calypso"
18. Giga: "Le Depart d’Ulysse"

Total playing time: 1:13:35

 You might also enjoy these titles: